Movie Review – “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn

The movie adaptation of Gone Girl was simply spectacular. Considering I only read the book, by Gillian Flynn, quite recently, I can say that the movie was very accurate. Before I watched the movie I was really worried about how they would pull off the complicated plot. Now I think it’s safe to say that I was worried over nothing.

For me, the standout of the movie was the casting. Amy, portrayed by Rosamund Pike, and Nick, portrayed by Ben Affleck, were simply superb. I think that they really channeled the characters created by Gillian. Whilst watching the movie you truly believed that they were Nick and Amy. Laray Madfield has done a brilliant job of finding actors who not only look, but were the characters.

As well as the casting, I thought that the overall plot was incredible. It didn’t lose anything important from the novel and didn’t have any major plot changes (unlike some movies). My grandma watched the movie with us and hadn’t read the book. We both loved it. I thought it had just the right amount of change to keep fans of the book on the edge of their seats.

Despite the fact that I knew what happened, I was kept in suspense the entire time. A few times I had to remind myself of what happened because I found myself being persuaded by what the movie wants you to think happened. I loved that I felt as if the whole story was unfurling right in front of my eyes. Watching Gone Girl made you feel very sane and rather normal.  Ashxxx

20140724-205622-75382505.jpg

What an amazing movie “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn was. The movie was very close to the book so I don’t want to say much for those who have not read the book. But even if you haven’t read the book, go see the movie as the twists and turns will shock you.

The movie is based on a young couple Amy and Nick, who are celebrating their fifth wedding anniversary. Every year Amy plays a game on their anniversary leaving clues for Nick to find about their life, making it into a sort of treasure hunt. The day of the anniversary is the day Amy disappears from the family home under suspicious circumstances. The police become involved when clues are found surrounding her disappearance and all evidence is looking like Nick is responsible for her murder. The only problem is there is no body. This is when the story becomes intriguing and where I will stop writing.

The movie was full of suspense, intrigue, romance, violence and sex. I am not sure I would take a 14 year old to see this movie (yes I did take Ashlea) but I was unaware of how graphic it was.

cheers natalie xxx

Leave a Reply

