Journey to Self…

SONY DSCIn the busy lifestyle many people lead, it is difficult to find anytime for yourself. I recently attended a seminar for women in business and was pleasantly surprised by what I learned.

I thought I was going to gain the secret code to running a successful business, and in many ways I suppose that is what I learnt. However, the secret code wasn’t a mathematical formula that I simply had to apply and instantly my business would triple in profits. The secret code was me. I had to indulge myself on spending quality time reflecting on my last, my present and my future, visualising what I saw.

PAST – I learnt that from a little girl, I have always tried to make other happy. I would change who I was to mirror the people around me. If those around were unhappy, I would blame myself, often punishing myself for not being the person they thought I should be.

PRESENT – My chosen career reflects the woman I have always been. I make beautiful books for families who have lost loved ones, cherishing those memories ( http://www.PreciousMemoriesByNatalie.com.au). I am still trying to make people happy at their saddest hour.

FUTURE – I can see my wonderful family laughing as we venture on another family holiday. I can see the success of my business, feeling a sense of achievement that I am making a difference in people’s lives. I AM HAPPY.

By indulging in myself, I have not only altered my path but those around me that I care deeply about. When have you taken time to improve yourself?

cheers natalie

The most self-indulgent thing that I think I do is read. I love reading and I always have and it it’s one of things I do just for me and not for anyone else. I also love to write and by write, I do mean write things other than blog posts. I love writing about anything that comes to mind but usually gory or depressing stories (mum says they are my speciality).

As well as reading and writing, I love to listen to music. I am one of those people who desperately fails at anything to do with music, except for listening to it. I love the way I can lose myself in the lyrics. I also love being able to distract myself from anything that’s going on in the world.

When it comes to my body, I love playing sports. Whether it’s playing in my team for netball and basketball, or a lesson of PE at school, I absolutely love it. I do quite a lot of exercise and love how energised it makes me feel. As much as I have to do PE and I am committed to my sporting teams, I play these sports because I enjoy them and want to do them for me.

Something I wish I would do for myself is running. I am not a very good runner but I wish I was. Every time I decide to start getting fitter and going for more runs, I find an excuse or some reason why I can’t do it that night. If I could do one more thing for myself it would be running because after I go for a run, I usually feel really good about myself.

💕ash

Comments

  1. Pauline Bourn says:

    Enjoyed both …. Me times

  2. This is such a gorgeous blog. I am completely overwhelmed by the wonderful mother-daughter connection. Such a gift. I really struggle to take time for myself. I guess I throw a lot of energy into my creative pursuits- my blogs and that is a level of self-analysis while doing something I consider is worthwhile.

    • Thanks Nicole, I know I am lucky to have an amazing relationship with my daughter. Time out for many mothers almost feels selfish, but that little but of time makes us better parents. Not that I have much time, but when I do I run, without looking back..

Leave a Reply

