Movie Review – Mockingjay Part 1

 images

Mockingjay Part 1 Review

I literally have one word for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 and that is WOW! The movie was incredible; I would even go as far as to say it was better than the book. In my opinion, the first half of the Mockingjay novel was boring, and that is something I never say about a book. The first part of the book was centred around Katniss who, surprisingly (note the sarcasm), had post-traumatic stress disorder.

However, the movie was extremely fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat. The storyline, whilst very close to the book, contained added scenes that made it impossible to stop watching, even as someone who knew what was going to happen. For me, my favourite scene from the movie was the rescue scene. This wasn’t in the book which is probably why I loved it so much.

As per usual with The Hunger Games movies, the acting was fantastic. Jennifer Lawrence, once again, was the only person who could be Katniss Everdeen. In this movie Elizabeth Banks (Effie Trinket) was a stand out. She played the political rebel with a dash of Capitol fabulousness perfectly. I was also very impressed with how Josh Hutcherson portrayed Peeta slowly spiralling into insanity.

I think that the movie is well worth the hype it is getting. It wasn’t a letdown after the two incredible movies that preceded it. Mockingjay is one of those movies that pretty much everyone can enjoy, that includes people who have and haven’t read the books. I would suggest that people under the age of twelve shouldn’t watch it because it is a very full on movie that probably isn’t appropriate for young kids.

My rating of this movie is 4.5 out of 5. My suggestion is that you experience it on the big screen whilst you can.

Love Ash

IMG_4787

Ashlea and I read the trilogy ‘The Hunger Games’ a couple of years ago and fell in love with them. As I am aging (slowly.. slowly), my memory is not as good as it use to be. So before we went into the theatre, I couldn’t actually remember much about the final book. Ash reminded me that the first half was very slow, mainly focusing on Katniss Everdeen’s depression. That is why I didn’t recall the book, it was a little boring and I was skim reading it.

However, the movie – The Mockingjay Part 1 was fantastic. It captured my attention immediately, drawing me into the dark and tragic world of Panem. I was amazed at how the director – Francis Lawrence could take a fairly boring section of the Hunger Games trilogy and turn it around in such a way to maintain my attention for the entire 2 hour long movie. It was action packed. There was an exciting love triangle. The introduction of  new characters that I fell in love with immediately moved the storyline easily. I loved the performance of Julianne Moore as  President Coin and a fantastic final performance from Philip Seymour Hoffman as Plutarch Heavensbee.

This was better than I was expecting and MUCH better than the first part of the book. Go and see it…

cheers natalie

Comments

  1. Miss 18 and Mr 20 are both dying to see it. I saw the first one and enjoyed it but can’t say I’m too worried about seeing any further adventures …

    • It is perfect for their age group (maybe I am trying to put myself in their category..hahaha). Did you see the 2nd movie – Catching Fire? It is nothing like the first two as they are no longer in the ‘Games’, they are trying to create a revolution. Worth a sneaky peak.

Leave a Reply

